Emperor of the Eight Islands Book One of The Tale of Shikanoko

Lian Hearn


An ambitious warlord leaves his nephew for dead and seizes his lands…

A stubborn father forces his younger son to give up his wife to his older brother…

A seductive woman of the Old People seeks five fathers for her five children…

A powerful priest meddles in the succession to the Lotus Throne…

These are the threads of an intricate tapestry in which the laws of destiny play out against a backdrop of wild forest, elegant court, and savage battlefield. Set in a mythical medieval Japan inhabited by warriors and assassins, ghosts and guardian spirits, The Emperor of Eight Islands is a brilliantly imagined novel, full of drama and intrigue—and it is just the beginning of an enthralling, epic adventure: The Tale of Shikanoko.

About Lian Hearn

Lian Hearn is the pseudonym of a writer—born in England, educated at Oxford, currently living in Australia—who has a lifelong interest in Japan, has lived there, and studies Japanese. She is the author of the bestselling series Tales of the Otori.

Read More

More by Lian Hearn

Email Updates

Stay up to date with the latest from FSG and FSG Originals

  • Yes, please send me updates from FSG Originals and related information from Macmillan and its affiliates