THE ORIGINALS SERIES: Shelly Oria + Slothrust

The Originals Series is back on Tuesday, 11/18, to celebrate Shelly Oria’s new book, New York 1, Tel Aviv 0, with host David Rees and a musical performance by Slothrust.

Tuesday, November 18, 7:00 PM

Issue Project Room
22 Boerum Place
Brooklyn

Space is limited! You must RSVP to attend.

New York 1, Tel Aviv 0 is on sale November 4th and has been variously described as “dazzling and daring” (Karen Russell), “acutely feelingful” (Gary Lutz) and “fresh as the brilliant shock of new paint” (Honor Moore).

“These are dazzling and daring stories from the extraordinary Shelly Oria, a writer I was thrilled to discover. Oria captures her characters at their most vulnerable, exposing their true natures in flashbulb bursts of surprising, exhilarating action. She’s got style to burn, obsidian wit, and a deep feeling for the subterranean choreography between people’s daylit and shadow selves. In New York 1, Tel Aviv 0, Oria makes exquisite music out of the fragility of human relationships.”
—Karen Russell, author of Vampires in the Lemon Grove and Swamplandia

“The cacophony of voices in this excellent collection tell all kinds of different stories, but themes of gender and dislocationr ecur in artful ways. I felt like I hadn’t heard these perspectives before, and I read a lot of weird stuff. Shelly’s voice is different and funny and strange. Also hilarious.”
—Emily Gould, Paper Magazine – Ten Fall Must-Read

“[A] remarkably exciting debut. Oria’s voice is whip-smart, fresh and uniquely hers.”
—Sara Lippmann, Trop Magazine

“In this debut collection, Oria tests her characters’ definitions of nationality, gender and relationship status, their tenuous senses of belonging to a place and to others. These are crisply told, biting tales about characters split in two because of country or love . . . Oria’s fiction is tense and gripping; it’s like the surprising and disconcerting sound that emerges from an instrument played by a traditionally trained musician who’s chosen to explore new territory.”
Kirkus Reviews [starred review]

“Shelly Oria’s sparkling stories of busted love, tentative lust, and international identity can come at you in pieces: they can be structured in fragments, numbered like lists, broken up like a dotted line. Inevitably, though, they reassemble by the time she’s done with them, which ensures that you won’t be done with them for a while—they’ll stay with you, gently insistent, pressing on your mind from all directions.”
—Ben Greenman, author of The Slippage and Mo’ Meta Blues

“Shelly Oria’s acutely feelingful stories about the beautifully confusing love lives of the post-gender generation are wonderworks of candor and grace. In warm, intimate voices, Ms. Oria’s narrators—young, wisdom-rich, often bicontinental—struggle winningly with longing and loss. If you want to know how the new human heart feels and sounds right this very instant, this is the only book you’ll need.”
—Gary Lutz, author of Stories in the Worst Way

The dangerous, ambitious, and cosmopolitan women who dominate the pages of New York 1, Tel Aviv 0, break hearts indiscriminately—female hearts, male hearts, sometimes both at once. Likewise, the wit, sparkling intelligence and sensitivity of Shelly Oria’s story collection seduces you, abandons you, and leaves you craving more.”
—James Hannaham, author of God Says No

“Reading New York 1, Tel Aviv 0 is like getting all the best passport stamps—it’s your ticket to the uncharted worlds of the most fraught and fascinating characters in contemporary fiction. Shelly Oria’s writing has everything: insights that will grab you by the throat; a voice that’s wholly, disarmingly original; and a heart that fills and throbs and bursts. These stories will astonish you.”
—Diana Spechler, author of Who By Fire and Skinny

“Fierce, funny, and utterly captivating, every story in this superb collection rings with aching truth about our strange, sad world and all the wonder and beauty there is to behold within it.  By turns tender and provocative, Shelly Oria writes with great compassion and stunning grace about fear and failure, loss and longing, isolation and intimacy and the vast tide of small, astonishing moments that flows between them. This is a fabulous debut.”
—Aryn Kyle, author of Boys and Girls Like You and Me and The God of Animals

“Oria’s gorgeous stories pass over and through borders between nations, genders, and bodies, all the while, fully aware of the contradictions contemporary culture present.”
—Samantha Hunt, author of The Invention of Everything Else

“Trying to figure out what an Israeli is, who an Israeli is in America, who the ones are who go back and forth, the devastatingly observant Shelly Oria takes us to Brooklyn and Manhattan, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem and, in one of the most memorable of these stories, to Albany! Searching to describe her tone, her laugh-out-loud originality, and her (mostly young) deliciously mixed-up, love-addicted, often rueful characters, I’d say fresh, yes, fresh as the brilliant shock of new paint.”
—Honor Moore, author of The Bishop’s Daughter

“How can a voice be so direct and yet so delicate? In New York 1, Tel Aviv 0, Shelly Oria tenderly lays out the truth about human beings, creatures so intelligent they are able to outwit themselves most of the time. Oria’s stories also reveal the rare moments when we humans find ourselves on the verge of transcendent revelation. But the heart of Oria’s gift is her language: seductive, precise, and—over and over—startlingly beautiful.”
—Nelly Reifler, author of Elect H. Mouse

“Shelly Oria has written a fiercely original, sharp and stunning collection. New York 1, Tel Aviv 0 perfectly illuminates the breadth of life’s complexities, is insightful throughout, and funny when you least expect it.”
—Alison Espach, author of The Adults

“I want nothing less than to be changed by a book. Changed, the way we only can be by peering into the strange world of another mind’s creation, and recognizing ourselves. It is the most shocking and satisfying kind of surprise. Shelly Oria’s deep, elegant, and funny stories are surprising in just that right way. In the characters of New York 1, Tel Aviv 0, she shows us the parts of ourselves that we most fear. And by rendering their brokenness, loneliness, and magic so tenderly, she shows us how to be tender. With her unflinching gaze, she shows us how to see. Oria is already a master, and this a dazzling, original debut.”
—Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart

“Shelly Oria’s characters toggle back and forth between the U.S. and Israel just as her stories toggle between a world that’s familiar and a world much more strange. Whether in cooking classes or eye clinics or blood banks or fitting rooms, whether amidst time stoppages or amidst sounds that only one character can hear, Oria’s stories are utterly original. New York 1, Tel Aviv 0 is wondrous, wise, a dazzling debut.”
—Joshua Henkin, author of The World Without You

“With their dark honesty, these are stories tuned in to the endless and extravagant strangeness of the world. Shelly Oria has a wonderful range of methods for dazzling us, and New York 1, Tel Aviv 0 marks the arrival of a wildly talented writer.”
—Joan Silber, author of Ideas of Heaven

“Born in Los Angeles and raised in Israel, Oria gives her first story collection a sharp edge, subtle humor, and a distinctive contemporary voice . . . An engaging first story collection from a promising young author who deserves a wide readership.”
Library Journal

“Smart, sharp, and keenly observant, Oria’s stories will appeal to readers who love Aimee Bender and Karen Russell.”
Booklist

Posted 10/29/14 Posted October 29, 2014