FSG Originals are driven by voices that insist on being heard, stories that demand to be told, writers who are compelled to show us something new. They defy categorization and expectation. They are, in a word, original.


Publishers Weekly: “FSG Gets Original”
Projects you “desperately want to publish” but that you also can’t imagine “sliding comfortably between those two stiff pieces of cardboard” is how Farrar, Straus & Giroux senior editor Sean McDonald described FSG Originals, the publisher’s paperback line. Launched by McDonald and FSG editor Emily Bell in 2011, the imprint has published 20 titles to date, and recently gave birth to a digital line, Digital Originals. FSG Originals has just started promoting one of its 2014 summer titles, The Silent History, and McDonald said the work (it’s adapted from the celebrated story-driven app of the same name, which launched in 2012) is exactly the kind of book that fits the imprint’s list. Read the rest of the story here Posted January 17, 2014
Introducing the Digital Originals program
Warren Ellis’s Dead Pig Collector marks the first in a brand new series of e-book originals from FSG. “Warren Ellis has exactly the kind of brilliant and unexpected imagination that we built the FSG Originals program to harness,” says FSG Originals Publisher Sean McDonald. “The central hope of the Originals program has always been to pull off publications creative and flexible enough to match books that themselves defy all kinds of conventions. So having Warren—who has always been pushing the edges of how we tell stories, and never more so than here with Mister Sun in Dead Pig Collector—lead our charge into digital original publishing is not just perfect but thrilling.” Posted July 30, 2013

Upcoming Events

See all Upcoming Events

Contact Us

You can find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. If that doesn't work for you, please feel free to contact us about anything having to do with any of our books or authors. Please do not use this form to inquire about submissions.

About FSG

Farrar, Straus and Company was founded in 1946 by Roger W. Straus and John C. Farrar. In 1964 Robert Giroux's name was added to the roster and the company became Farrar, Straus and Giroux. The firm is renowned for its international list of literary fiction, nonfiction, poetry and children's books. Farrar, Straus and Giroux authors have won extraordinary acclaim over the years, including numerous National Book Awards, Pulitzer Prizes, and twenty-two Nobel Prizes in literature.